skip navigation
Home Events Recruiting Prospects High School Grassroots Writers About Player Finder

FAQs of the Minnesota All Star Series

04/05/2013, 10:45am CDT
By Ryan James

The Who, What, When, Where, and Why of the MBCA All Star Series

Who:  The Minnesota Basketball Coaches Association is putting on the four team, forty player all star game series that includes 31 of the top 50 player prospects in the Northstar Hoops Report senior class rankings.  The all star series includes eight players signed with division one schools highlighted by Wisconsin signed Riley Dearring, and seven players signed in the NSIC including Mr. Basketball finalist Aaron Lien of Moorhead.

What:  This is the two game all star series that has a Gold team, Maroon team, Green team, and Blue team.  The winners of tonight’s games play tonight and the losers will play tomorrow.  The players are mixed and matched randomly without relation to community represented.  The teams were likely chosen to balance the talents.  This is the 31st year of the all star series. Three point shooting and Dunk contests will precede each of the games both dates.

When: Friday's event will be tipped off by a contest between the Maroon and Gold teams at 7:00 p.m.  The Blue and Green teams will culminate the evening's activities with an 8:45 p.m. contest.   Saturday's schedule will include games at 2:15 p.m. and 4:00 p.m.

Where:  Doubleheaders will be played Friday, April 5th at Halenbeck Hall on the campus of St. Cloud State University and Saturday, April 6th at Leonard Center on the campus of Macalester College in St. Paul.

Why: It’s a last chance to see the class of 2013 stars in action both in game form as well in three point shooting and dunk contest action.

How:  Tickets at the door are $8 for adults and $6 for students (5 & under are free). For more information regarding the all-star series go to


Gold Team

Joe Aase, Austin                 
Devin Buckley, Park Center           
Grant Erickson, Lakeville North      
Dustin Fronk, Apple Valley         
Garrison Gillard, Maranatha Academy      
Aaron Lien, Moorhead         
Reggie Lynch, Edina               
Jack Martinek, Irondale              
John Mattison, Rochester JM       
Quashingm Smith-Pugh, St. Paul Johnson


Maroon Team

Tom Aase, Austin
Nick Anderson, Mpls. Washburn
Logan Doyle, Alexandria
Xavier Hall, Tartan
Kebu Johnson, Blake
Mackenzie Johnson, Roseville
Peter Kruize, St. Peter
Porter Morrell, Elk River
Austin Rambow, Willmar
Jake Wilson, Zimmerman    


Green Team

Anders Broman, Lakeview Christian         
Riley Dearing, Minnetonka              
Johah Eisenschenck, Rocori       
Quinton Hooker, Park Center          
DeShawn Jones, Richfield              
Zach Lindquist, Mahtomedi          
Nick O’Hara, Armstrong            
Luke Scott, Mpls. DeLaSalle          
Carson Shanks, Prior Lake              
Jumah’ri Turner, Bloomington Kennedy     


Blue Team

Robert Ben, Spring Lake Park    
Jordan Burich, Roseville
Shaq Coleman, Duluth East
Isaiah Hanson, Maranatha Academy
Nate Huot, Dawson-Boyd
Mike Millard, Fergus Falls
Ben Oberfeld, Eastview
Devon Pekas, Hawley
Renard Suggs, Woodbury
Bridge Tusler, Osseo

Tag(s): High School  Ryan James